Congratulations to the winners of the IoT, Cloud & Cybersecurity Innovation Awards 2017

Lights! Camera! Champagne! The winners of the IoT, Cloud & Cybersecurity Innovation Awards 2017 couldn’t be happier — especially since it wasn’t an easy road to victory.

First, the nominees for the awards had to submit an entry. There were six awards categories – three for “Hot Start-Ups” and three for “Innovation Leader.” Within each of those broad areas, there was one award focused on each of the Internet of Things (IoT), Cloud/Datacenter and Cybersecurity.

The initial nominations, and there were many, were run past 40+ leading technology press and industry analysts representing 35+ countries across the globe to determine a list of finalists.

Those finalists were then judged at the NetEvents Global Press & Analyst Summit in San Jose, California, on Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017. The presentations from the finalists were given live in a “Shark Tank”-style interrogation by a panel of five Silicon Valley venture capitalists. If anyone knows a tech leader, they do:

  • Janice Roberts, Benhamou Global Ventures
  • Hiro Rio Maeda, DraperNexus
  • Joe Jasin, DNA Partners
  • Curtis Feeny, Silicon Valley Data Capital
  • Dave House, Brocade

The judges then retired to the deliberation room to choose the winners, which were presented at a charity benefit gala dinner. All money raised by this years’ awards, including profits and donations from the gala dinner evening, is shared between three charities: Prostate Cancer Research, STEM and UNICEF. This year’s charitable contributions brought the total raised to-date to over $125,000.

Here They Come…

And now, without further ado, the envelope please:

Innovation Leader – IoT: NetFoundry

Innovation LeaderCloud/Datacenter: Cohesity

Innovation LeaderCybersecurity: Darktrace

Hot Start-Up – Cloud/Datacenter: Apstra

Hot Start-Up – IoT: OnDot Systems

Hot Start Up ­– Cybersecurity: Javelin Networks

Recognizing the Idol

The awards ceremony culminated in special recognition of Professor David Cheriton as the Innovation Idol 2017. A professor at Stanford, eminent computer scientist, early back of companies as diverse as Google and VMware, David Cheriton joins an elite club of past winners that includes Ethernet inventor Bob Metcalfe, OpenFlow inventor Martin Casado, and Silicon Valley legend Andy Bechtolsheim.

Article by: Mark Fox

Recent Posts


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on linkedin